18th L.N.Birla Memorial Debate - Prelims

18th L.N.Birla Memorial Debate


Date of Event: 10.07.2017 

Topic: "We Get the Kind of Leaders That We Deserve."

Chairperson :

  • Mr. Raju Raman - Mr.Raman retired as Programme Director of Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata. He is presently Programme Consultant to Victoria Memorial Hall.


  • Richa Wahi - Graduated from Cardiff University, UK and  Masters in Teaching and Practice of Creative Writing. At Present she is training Consultant at British Council.
  • Manju Ahluwalia - Mrs Manju Ahluwalia has been working in the educational field for over forty years. She started as a Lecturer in Jesus and Mary College in New Delhi from 1968 to 1970 and later as a Lecturer in Loreto College in Kolkata.She worked as a teacher in New Vista Kolkata and La Martinere for Boys Kolkata and later as Headmistress of the Junior Section of the School.She has also worked in Adamas International School and as Headmistress of the Junior section of BSS  Kolkata.
  • Mr.Amar Agarwala - A practising Chartered Accountant and Lawyer with twenty-eight years of experience in the field, Mr Agarwala specializes in soft-skill training, besides being a motivational speaker.  He has written various treatises novels, prose and poems. His literary creations include – MISSING VARRUN (a Bestseller), Astral Runner (Fantasy Fiction), and An Awakening (Play) done as a bilingual project along with the Comunidad de Hindu Ceuta & Dept.of Culture, Govt.of Spain.  – CALCUTTA KALEIDOSCOPE is a Collection of Short Stories He believes that creativity is the essence of existence and of life!

The School teams which participated in the Prelims :

  1. La Martiniere for Girls.
  2. Loreto House.
  3. Modern High School for Girls.
  4. La Martiniere for Boys.
  5. The Heritage School.
  6. Sushila Birla Girls’ School.
  7. DPS Ruby Park.
  8. Birla High School.
  9. Lakshmipat Singhania Academy.
  10. St. Xavier’s Collegiate School.
  11. Sri Sri Academy.
  12. Calcutta Boys School.
  13. Mahadevi Birla World Academy.
  14. Shri.Shikshayatan.
  15. Calcutta Girl’s School.
  16. St. James’ School.
  17. South Point School.