19th L.N.Birla Memorial Debate


Date of Event: 10.07.2018 

Topic : "The Virtual World is colonising the Real World".

Chairperson :

  • Mr. S. V. Raman - Raju Raman, as he is popularly known, was associated with the Goethe-Institute / Max Mueller Bhavan, Kolkata for 35 years and retired as programme director. He is presently programme consultant to Victoria Memorial Hall. A keen debater since his schooldays, he now regularly moderates and judges debates and also dons the mantle Of Quiz-Master and Anchor-Person for talk-shows, panel discussions and other events on stage and on the small screen. He has recently taken over as President of the Indo-German Association, Calcutta.


  • Ms. Sunita Sen - Ms. Sen is the Principal of Ballygunge Siksha Sadan. A recipient of several prestigious awards as Best Principal for Excellence in Education, she takes active interest in debating and has hosted, moderated and judged Inter-School debates for the last 20 years.
  • Ms Shuktara Lal - Ms Lal is a drama therapist and counsellor, teacher and theatre director. She privately counsels clients and is attached to NGOs and schools as a drama therapist. As a theatre facilitator and teacher, she has been working with children for over ten years, with different schools and organizations. She also directs, writes, and works with the Publishing House, Writers Workshop.
  • Dr. Sunrit Mullick -  Dr. Sunrit Mullick (B. 1957) obtained advanced degrees in comparative religion from Visva-Bharati, Chicago and Harvard, specializing in the Brahmo Samaj Movement.
     His numerous scholarly and fictional writings have been published in India and abroad. He has served on the Board of Birla High School for several years. He retired in 2017 from the American Consulate, Kolkata as its Cultural Affairs Specialist.

Two students of class XI and XII from 18 eminent schools of Kolkata comprise the team.

The School teams which participated in the Prelims

  1. La Martiniere for Girls
  2. Loreto House
  3. Modern High School for Girls
  4. La Martinierefor Boys
  5. The Heritage School
  6. Sushila Birla Girls’ School
  7. DPS Ruby Park
  8. Birla High School
  9. Sri Sri Academy
  10. Lakshmipat Singhania Academy
  11. St. Xavier’s Collegiate School
  12. Sri Sri Academy
  13. Calcutta Boys School
  14. Mahadevi Birla World Academy
  15. Shri Shikshayatan
  16. Calcutta Girls’ School
  17. South Point School
  18. South City International

Every participant received a certificate of participation from Birla High School.