Finals - 10.07.2021

The Topic for the Finals is- In the opinion of the House "Civilization is essentially an escalating conflict with nature

Birla High School hosted the 22nd L. N. BIRLA MEMORIAL INVITATIONAL DEBATE on a virtual platform. The debate is held every year to commemorate the school’s founding father Late Shri Lakshmi Niwas Birla’s birth anniversary. The debate, over the years, has brought on a common platform, keen debaters, from across the city and the country, who engage in dialectic debating , arguing passionately and putting forth their conflicting opinions on contentious and topical issues. This year the preliminary rounds were scheduled on the 8th and 9th of July and the finals were on the  10th . Various schools from across the country participated in the debate with full gusto.

After the day 2 of the preliminary round the following schools were shortlisted for the finals

1.  Birla High School

2.  Bluebells International School

3.  La Martiniere for Boys

4.  La Martiniere for Girls

5.  Loreto House

6.  Mahadevi Birla World Academy

7.  Shri Shikshyatan School

8.  Sushila Birla Girls’ School

Chief Guest for the day : Justice. Dipankar Datta – Chief Justice Mumbai High Court 

Moderator for the Final round : Dr. Kunal Sarkar.

Judges for the Final round: Mr Utpal Chatterjee. Ms. Swati Gautam . Ms Devjani Ray

All the participants from 18 schools received a participation certificate.

Each Finalist was awarded a participation certificate along with a FastTrack watch

Best TeamBirla High School , bagged the trophy and a cheque of Rs 10,000/. And an Apple I pad each.  

Nakshat Pandey of Birla High School was also adjudged the Best Speaker and he received a trophy and a cheque for Rs. 5000/

1st Runner Up team was Mahadevi Birla World Academy, they received a cheque of Rs 6000.

2nd Runner Up team was Blue Bells International School they received a cheque of Rs.3000.

Samridhya Chatterjee of Mahadevi Birla World Academy was awarded with Rs.2000/- as a special a Jury mention.

The host school handed over the Winner’s Trophy to the 1st Runner Up team i.e. MBWA